WDAFS Scholarship Deadline is May 1, 2015



The Western Division is pleased to announce that applications for its graduate-level student scholarships are now being
solicited. This scholarship program provides up to $5,000 annually in scholarships to masters or doctoral students in the
general area of fisheries science with one to three awards to individual students. Beginning in 2002, the Sustainable Fisheries
Foundation established the William Trachtenberg Memorial Scholarship Fund, which augments the Western Division
scholarship program. This fund provides up to $600 annually to a graduate-level student conducting studies on fisheries
sustainability. Applications for the Western Division scholarship program will automatically be considered for the Sustainable
Fisheries Foundation scholarship program as well. An award committee of five fisheries scientists from the Western Division
will make the decision regarding the award of scholarships from both programs. Selection criteria include demonstration of:

1. Excellent scholarship as evidenced by grades in rigorous course work during the last 60 hours as an undergraduate and
during graduate studies.

2. Potential for future contributions to the fisheries profession through management, research, or teaching.
3. Significant progress toward attaining a graduate degree in fisheries science with a defined thesis or dissertation project.

The 2015 scholarships will be awarded at the annual meeting of WDAFS in Portland, Oregon, August 16-20, 2015.


1. Applicants must be a member of the American Fisheries Society or have submitted 2015 membership materials by the time
of application. AFS Member number should be placed on application.

2. Applicants must have completed one semester or two quarters in a graduate degree program at a university within the
geographic boundaries of the Western Division.

3. Applicants must have a major field of study that is related to fisheries or aquatic science.

4. Applicants must submit an application package (electronically preferred) that contains of each of the following:

A. A letter to the award committee that includes (three separate items):

1. A brief description of the student's degree program and the anticipated date of completion.
2. A statement of the applicant’s career goals and reasons for applying for the scholarship (up to 200 words).
3. A statement of the academic and professional activities and contributions to AFS and the fisheries science
profession (up to 200 words).

B. Copies of a resume (including professional activities, pertinent publications, and scientific presentations) and graduate
transcripts. Please list GRE scores in your resume; a copy of the original form is not necessary.

C. A one-page abstract outlining the goals, objectives, design, methods and expected outcome from the thesis or
dissertation project.

D. Letters of reference from two faculty members (one must be the graduate students advisor) familiar with the student's
background and abilities. Letters may be sent separately by the individual providing the reference.

The application package should be sent (postmarked) no later than May 1, 2015 to:

Bob Gresswell, Western Division Scholarship Award Committee
2327 University Way, Suite 2
Bozeman, MT 59715