Nominations are open for WA-BC AFS Riparian Habitat Award

Do you know of a high quality riparian and watershed habitat management program? If so why not nominate them for the Western Division's Riparian Challenge Award! Troy Brant of the River Design Group is overseeing the award this year and you download more info, entry format, and evaluation criteria at his website:

Completed electronic entries should be emailed to the Riparian Challenge Committee Chair, Troy Brandt (, 503-307-8367). Entries are to be submitted by March 1, 2013.

AFS Western Division Riparian, Watersheds and Habitat Committee

- 2013 Riparian Challenge Call for Entries -

The Riparian, Watersheds and Habitat Committee is seeking entries for the Western Division?s 2013 Riparian Challenge Award. The Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management and other conservation agencies or private industries in the region encompassed by the Western Division (thirteen western states, British Columbia, Yukon Territories, Mexico and U.S. Islands and Trust Territories of the Western Pacific), are invited to participate in the Riparian Challenge. Winners will receive the Western Division?s Award of Excellence in Riparian Management to be presented at the American Fisheries Society?s Western Division Annual Meeting hosted by the Idaho Chapter in Boise, Idaho on April 15-18, 2013. The purpose of the Riparian Challenge award is to:

- Encourage the Bureau of Land Management, Forest Service and other
conservation agencies or private industry to strive for excellence in
riparian and watershed habitat management,

- Encourage agencies to progress in on?the?ground accomplishments
which when added together throughout the West, will significantly
improve riparian systems,

- Recognize managers and resource specialists for their efforts in
maintaining, restoring, and improving riparian and watershed ecosystems.

If you are aware of a project that should be considered for the award, please ask the appropriate USFS, BLM, conservation agency or industry to submit an entry form. Winners will be selected in the following categories:

BLM - Best Resource Area or Field Office

Forest Service - Best Ranger District

Other (conservation agencies, consultants, or private industry) -
Best Riparian Project