Cricket Crawl: Citizen Science and Mobile Application Development

Wednesday, August 8
2:00 ET/1:00 CT/12:00 MT/11:00 PT
Sponsored by the Organization of Fish and Wildlife Information Managers

To RSVP, please email Don Schrupp at by Monday, August 6. Registered attendees will be sent webinar connection information prior to the event.

Webinar description:

Sam Droege (USGS) and Derek Masaki (USGS) will discuss the biological, logistical, interpersonal, and technical aspects of running a survey using cell phone technology. In their case, they have created a system to survey calling nocturnal orthopterans (crickets and katydids) along with invasive frogs and geckos in Hawaii. The survey was first run in New York City in 2009 ( using tools such as DropIO, email, and texting to generate near real time maps. Surveys this coming year will take advantage of the benefits that Twitter Feeds have in aggregating information, producing simple databases, and transferring information among applications. The website for the Maryland event is and the twitter feed, database, and mapping section using twitter is available for inspection at On July 23rd a full test of the of the new system will take place and we will summarize those results along with the lessons learned during the 2009 event. We will discuss the technical and biological pros and cons of this approach and mention its possible benefits to other surveys.